Journey of a 20 year old Singaporean FINTECH wannabe!

Journey of a 20 year old Singaporean FINTECH wannabe!

Introduction to me

IMG-20210720-WA0002.jpg

Hello, welcome to my little technical blog for my personal self-taught journey to become a Data Analytic. I am currently a student at NTU(Singapore) pursuing a degree in Accounting and minoring in Digitalisation and Data analytics. My ultimate aim is to work at a FINTECH company. I have taken the initiative to start a little self-learning journey to equip myself with the required tool for me to attain my dreams. I have read up a lot on the journey that people took to get a job at a FINTECH company and the most outstanding stories are those who have taught themself the skills needed to get a job there. It is outstanding because they do not rely solely on just a piece of paper to get them a job. They are constantly upgrading themselves and are driven enough to find ways to expand their reach, to show others their knowledge and hard work. One way they did so was by blogging. Hence, I am going to follow in their footsteps, documenting my learnings and my journey in hopes to reach out to someone who will allow me to achieve my goals or present me with opportunities along the way. I will try my best through this blog to show my drive, my ability, and my sheer grit. For those who are on a similar path, don't be afraid to reach out or correct me. We can help each other and become a better version of ourselves.

Why am I embarking on this journey to become a Data Analytics?

image.png To be very honest, my dream was to pursue a career in Computer Science. But, I did not meet the entry requirement to become a Computer Science Student. While scrolling through all the courses available, I came across my course which was Accounting and minoring in Digitalisation and Data analytics. This immediately caught my attention as it has 2 elements that I was interested in, a little Coding element and also a money-centric course(Gotta love a little money). One of the jobs that this degree can lead to is FINTECH. At that moment I knew I wanted to work towards that. I was always more interested in the computing side of my degree and hence during my free time between my National Service and University, I took my time to learn some Data analytic skills instead of watching Netflix. To reach my dream, I started this enjoyable and fulfilling self-learning process of Data analytics.

Why follow me?

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-03 at 8.37.24 PM.jpeg

I have always been the underdog when it comes to academics, always told to drop certain subjects. But, alongside that, there is one thing that remains the same. I surprise those who do not believe in me. I might not be the brightest but I am sure one hell of a fighter. If given an opportunity, you will not regret it. That was too real. Follow me on this journey and let's grow together. I am always down to meet new friends!!!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Lee Wen Rui by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!